Archive | August 11, 2017

Egypt’s Sister- Angela Hunt, author

I will admit from the start that I had a hard time getting in Egypt’s Sister by Angela Hunt. I found myself rereading some pages and unable to relate to the characters, this was the first book I have read by Angela Hunt and most often do not read biblical fiction, with that said the author wrote an awesome book The main point of the story was Chava’s relationship with God and Urbi, an Egyptian princess who became as close as sisters. Urbi unexpectedly ascends the throne as Queen Cleopatra. Chava believes their bond is strong enough to survive, but her ultimate betrayal takes her from everything where she must choose between love, honor and God’s will for her life. Overall, a well written story that just didn’t do it for me. I received this book from the Bethany House, but I was in no way required to leave a positive review. I will wait and read Book 2.

IMG_9373

Convicted-An Amazing Story

Convicted was about two men from two different walks of life, Andrew Collins, a cop who let his ego get to him and operates like the law does not pertain to him and Jameel McGee, an innocent man who is in the wrong place at the wrong time. They both land up in prison and start on a journey together neither envisioned when they started their day. One that saw suffering first hand, but yet the first one to forgive the police officer. A true story of hope, forgiveness, redemption, love, truth. Both land up in prison, once released they are faced with accepting responsibility for their actions and from that they rediscover what forgiveness really is in a racially divided city. God uses situation we are all in to get our attention and protect us.

IMG_9370

Enter a caption